There’s no place like….

I’m home. After 18 months living out of a backpack, everywhere from Outback Australia to Nicaragua, my stuff is out of storage and I have a fixed address. I am back at work and I am giving adulting a go.

I hear of people having post-trip blues, but right now, I am stoked to be home. It’s the middle of summer here and I am back with my mates and my family. The work and bills part is a bit of a downer but it is nice to be not starting every conversation with, “Where are you from, how long are you travelling for?”

 

10481929_10153702890675049_6442210181730702108_n

Moving Day.

10259887_10153696562925049_1354252590881174786_n

Christmas Day with family and friends.

“So,where next?”  people keep asking.

“No-where. I’m staying in Australia.”

“Pft, right I’ve heard that before.”

My life has been on a work, save, travel, repeat rotation and part of the reason I’m home for a while is money, as in, I have none. They say travel is the only thing you buy, that makes you richer. No, no it does not make you richer. It makes you a 33 year old with no assests whatsoever other than a 1989 Corolla.

I would love to be one of those people that travel the world and support themselves “making money from their laptop”.  The folk that travel to beautiful, exotic locations and earn cash from their blogs. How in the holy hell they do this, I don’t know. There are plenty of websites that will tell you, “You too, can live the life of your dreams, making money online” but the reality is, you can’t. Well maybe you can, but I can’t. Shout-out to everyone that comes and has a look at this blog, but I think I am a long way from anyone wanting to pay me for it.

o-LAPTOP-HAWAII-facebook

How can this man even see the screen with all that sunshine? I’m suspicious he is working at all!

I reckon I have heaps more adventures left in me, but for now, I’ll be looking for them in my own backyard.

 

15 thoughts on “There’s no place like….

  1. I am happy that you are happy to be home, it’s not such a bad place and I’m sure you will still manage to have some “adventures”

    Like

  2. Congrats on being home. I too want to have a glamorous traveling life where people pay to read my stuff (sigh). Till we get there, thought you should know I nominated you for the Liebster award and linked back to your blog. So feel free to check it out!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

