Adventures in France

I am in Northern Spain with a girl I met working on a farm in France. Her name is Ida and she is like a Swedish Brandy – for those of you who don’t know Brandy is my crazy wonderful bestie. We had plans to travel to Portugal together to go to Boom music festival, but it has sold out. Ida bought her ticket in January so she is going to go, and I am now trying to come up with a plan B (and trying not to cry with disappointment).

I have been without Internet for awhile, so I am a bit behind with the blog. Anyway,  here are some more stories from my time in France.

I loved Paris – apparently France lets people have working holiday visas up until the age of 35, so I am thinking of moving there and delaying adulthood a little bit longer.

I did a lot of the typical tourist stuff-

DSCF0264

 

This Mona Lisa sheila better be worth it!

This Mona Lisa sheila better be worth it!

I waited in line, in the rain, for over two hours to get into The Lourve, but I am glad I went.

The main attraction of course, is The Mona Lisa. There was, as there apparently always is, a crowd of people pushing there way to the front to see her. Most people were more interested in taking a photo of the Mona Lisa and a selfie in front of The Mona Lisa, rather than just having a good look at the worlds most famous painting.

While I waited all I could hear was,

“Oh my god, what is taking so long?”

“Come on people, just take your photo and move.”

“It’s those Asians, they are taking so long! Hurry up Asians!”

“Asians can’t live with ’em, can’t live without ’em”

“Who says you can’t live without ’em?”

“Oh gawd hurry, I need my selfie!!!!!!”

Really? Rude and racist, what a charming combination.

Imagine if The Lourve banned cameras and you had to actually just walk around and enjoy yourself?

I did take a few photos though.

room

 

My favourite part of Paris was the Montmartre area, where the Sacre-Coeure is located.

I accidentally deleted some photos, so here is one I borrowed from the internet.

I accidentally deleted some photos, so here is one I borrowed from the internet.

 

As I was walking through the streets of Montmarte, a French man started talking to me. He seemed nice enough and I thought it might be fun to chat with a local so I agreed to have a wine with him. We ended up getting a bottle and drinking it in the park.

Unfortunately, this is not the beginning of a Paris love story.

We sat and talked and within about 20 minutes he decided I was “beautiful, wonderful Oh Mon Cherie!”

He grabbed my hand in his.

“Oh my bizzarre  hair girl.”

I sort of smiled awkwardly and gently pulled my hand away. He was a nice enough bloke, but I had no interest in being his ‘bizzarre hair girl.” I drank some more wine and shoved some cheese in my mouth so he wouldn’t think of kissing me. I tried to think of a polite excuse to leave.

“Oh I want to know you,”

Oh, want to leave.

When he grabbed my arm and kissed it like Gomez Adams would Morticia, it was time for me to go.

Despite that experience, I could have stayed in Paris a lot longer, but my bank account said otherwise.

I headed south to a town called Montlucon. Thinking it might be fun to stay with a local, I hit up a few people on Couchsurfing. One lady got back to me to let me know I could stay at her place, she wasn’t actually going to be there, but no worries, the front door is unlocked.

I arrived at 9 0’clock at night and felt a bit like a burglar as I let myself into her empty flat. It was a bit weird and I was nervous to touch anything, but very kind of her to give me a place to stay for the night.

From Montlucon I headed to a little farm called Rapato and hung out with these people,

Some of the great people I met in Rapato

Some of the great people I met in Rapato

DSCF0272[1]

My home for 11

Life on Rapato is a whole other story so it’ll have to wait for another blog post.

6 thoughts on “Adventures in France

  1. Reading your travelogue on Paris took my thoughts to my first visit to that city when, with a couple of locals, we had seen most of Paris on foot! Actually this is very much possible if the weather is pleasant. Like you my favourite also turned out to be Sacre-Coeure though I had found the surrounding areas as you walk down one of the alleys to be pretty seedy.

    Great post.

    Shakti

    Like

Leave a Reply

