England, Scotland, Paris.

Stonehenge

Stonehenge in the evening, as you can see there were heaps of people.

Things have definitely picked up for me here after the fizzer that was my time in Sri Lanka.

When I first arrived in the UK I went on a road trip with my friend Jim. We headed down to Stonehenge for the summer solstice festival, which is the same day as my birthday. It is the one time of year you are allowed to go in and touch the stones and it was pretty incredible.

One dick-head climbed up on top of one and danced around, then fell asleep for a couple of hours. He got a lot of boooos from the crowd, and when he got down he was arrested.

In the morning we watched the sunrise. There was a bunch of Hari Krishnas dancing and singing around the stones, so I joined them. Probably the first and last time I will begin a birthday dancing around Stonehenge at sunrise with a bunch of Hari Krishnas.

Love this photo taken at night on a fancy setting.

Love this photo taken at night on a fancy setting.

After Stonehenge we travelled around to Poole, York, Whitby and Leeds. I saw more of England in a few days than I did in the 18 months I lived there.

 

DSCF0082

Street in York.

 

Next stop was Scotland where it was a “Classy Broads” reunion.

 

Bec and I in Vietnam a couple of years ago.  Just a pair of Classy Broads!

Bec and I in Vietnam a couple of years ago. Just a pair of Classy Broads!

 

I headed up there for Bec’s wedding. I met her new husband for the first time and he is awesome and lovely and they both made me feel very welcome.

We had a pre-wedding party where apparently at one point I threw up in my hand, looked at one of the bridesmaids and said,

“I just threw up in my hand, are we still friends forever?”

The next day everyone kept telling me how funny I was, I thought, “Really? I don’t remember a thing.”

Becca was a very beautiful bride.   wedding bec

She started giggling during the ceremony and that made Davie burst out laughing so Bec burst out laughing, then we were all laughing including the celebrant. I told Bec that I have seen brides get teary during the ceremony, but she’s the first I’ve seen go “Bahahahahahahhahahaha”.

I REALLY wanted that bouquet.

I REALLY wanted that bouquet.

But it wasn't to be

But it wasn’t to be

catc4

I think it is clear I am NEVER going to get married.

I think it is clear I am NEVER going to get married.

I think Bec and I drove her husband Davie mad for the few days I was there. He said it was like we would have normal conversations, but with the volume turned right up.

Love this photo from the wedding. I think it is how Davie felt a lot of the time I was staying there!

Love this photo from the wedding. I think it is how Davie felt a lot of the time I was staying there!

After Scotland I headed to Liverpool and then Bath to see some old girlfriends I originally met in Butterfly Valley all those years ago!

Walking with Hannah and her dogs in the beautiful woods near her house.

Walking with Hannah and her dogs in the beautiful woods near her house.

I am now in Paris. Last night I went out with a fellow blogger, the gorgeous and fun Lily from J’taime? Me Neither. We have been reading each others blogs for awhile and it was fantastic seeing the city with a local.

It started with wine and a cheese platter

It started with wine and a cheese platter

And ended in an underground nightclub.

And ended in an underground nightclub.

I am trying to be all chic and classy while I am here, but on the way to meet Lily I fell over backwards very awkwardly and in slow-motion and had to be caught and helped up by some lady commuters. As usual after a big night I ended up drunk and barefoot at 3am trying to hail a cab. I am just massive dag where ever I go.

Trying to be all chic and Parisian, but my inner bogan always shines through.

Trying to be all chic and Parisian, but my inner bogan always shines through.

 

One thought on “England, Scotland, Paris.

Leave a Reply

